Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Covering Fire

  1. #1
    Protomolecule Host
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    53

    Covering Fire

    One of the three uses of Multiattack is to provide cover to an ally against opponents in your line of sight. Does anyone know if that's partial (+2 to defenses) or total (+5 to defenses) cover? I want to make it total cover, just to make the covering fire action compare more favorably to the Aid action, but does anyone know if it's ever explicitly stated which kind of cover it is?

  2. #2
    OPA Belta digitalangel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    2,176

    Re: Covering Fire

    This was from 2E, but maybe it will help.

    COVERING FIRE
    An autofire attack can provide cover for an ally. Take a full action and
    choose an ally in your line of sight, who receives a +4 dodge bonus
    against enemies in your line of sight and in range of your autofire attack.
    (You have to be able to shoot at them to get them to keep their heads
    down or this maneuver won’t work.) You cannot lay down covering fire for
    an ally in melee. Each character after the first who lays down covering fire
    for the same individual grants an additional +1 dodge bonus. All covering
    fire attackers receive a free attack if an opponent chooses to ignore the
    dodge bonus granted to the protected target.
    Classic car restoring, gun owning, martial arts practicing, military, gamer geek, kinky lesbian IT chick (has your brain exploded yet?)
    My character library

  3. #3
    Protomolecule Host
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    53

    Re: Covering Fire

    It's not an official 3E ruling, but it definitely convinces me--total cover it is. Thanks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •