Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: 3e M&M Regeneration Question

  1. #1
    Inceptor
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    18

    3e M&M Regeneration Question

    Hi. I have some questions about a character's Regeneration power. The character has 5 ranks, so it activates, by the rules, every other round.

    1. If the character is in round 1 of combat, and is incapacitated in a single attack, and the character has already acted that round. The character regeneration shoud happen on round 2? Is this correct? Does it begin at the start of the new round, the end, or on the character's turn? If it does happen, is the character immediately up and on their feat with no ill effects? Or are they staggered?

    2. If a character has taken several hits in a single round, (On Turn 1) and is -3 to toughness rolls and is staggered, then on Turn 2 .. how does the regeneration take place? What's healed? Does regeneration need to heal ALL of the toughness before if can begin to effect the Conditions? Or does it do like the following:

    Turn 1: Hero at -3, and Staggered
    Turn 2: Regeneration removed -1 toughness
    Turn 4: Regeneration removes Staggered condition reducing character to Dazed.
    Turn 6: Regeneration removed -1 toughness
    Turn 8: Regeneration removes Dazed condition.
    Turn 10: Regeneration removed final -1 toughness

    Any help is appreciated. Sorry if this question is a bit confusing.

  2. #2
    Keeper of Secrets
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    238

    Re: 3e M&M Regeneration Question

    > The character regeneration shoud happen on round 2? Is this correct?
    That is correct.

    > Does it begin at the start of the new round, the end, or on the character's turn?
    The book doesn't say! Ask your GM to make a ruling, or if you are the GM pick something and stick to it. Start of round and start of character's turn are both common interpretations.
    The impact of any particular choice is generally fairly minimal, though end of round and end of character's turn do weaken Regeneration a bit compared to start of round and start of character's turn.

    > If it does happen, is the character immediately up and on their feat with no ill effects? Or are they staggered?
    Their only Damage Condition was Incapacitated and that just got removed. However, the rules text for Incapacitated does state "Incapacitated characters generally also fall prone, unless some outside force or aid keeps them standing", so they're likely Prone when they recover.
    Not Staggered though, unless they were Staggered before they became Incapacitated.

    > how does the regeneration take place? What's healed? Does regeneration need to heal ALL of the toughness before if can begin to effect the Conditions?
    "Remove penalties to your Toughness checks due to damage equal to your Regeneration rank each minute. You then recover other damage conditions equal to your Regeneration rank each minute, starting from your most severe condition."
    Regeneration heals -1s, then heals Incapacitated, then heals Staggered, then heals Dazed, in that exact order. It can't move past the -1s until they're all gone, no matter what the order the damage was taken in.
    So in your example with three -1s and Staggered, it'd heal a -1 on rounds 2, 4, and 6, then heal Staggered on 8. Note that it doesn't have to remove the Dazed portion of Staggered separately, it just heals the entire Staggered condition at once.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •