There is a Errata PDF coming out soon, right?
I too would like to know the status of either an official errata or a collected fan-made version for the Core Rulebook.
(Also, is the Ultimate Edition going to be available again in the store?)
Does using the "Arcane Lance" Class Power require a Major or Minor action?
*** PLEASE give the source for your answer, with specific document/book titles and page numbers where applicable, or "I am one of the Green Ronin Dragon Age game designers" 🙂 . (I am interested in *the* rule and supporting documentation -- proof. So I really expect very few replies, possibly only one. I am completely uninterested in any guesses, reasoned inferences, offhand recollections or opinions, etc., because our group already has our own decision made if it turns out that there is no rule actually in place yet. I'm not being mean or standoffish, just making it clear what I actually want 😘.)
Here, there is just more unnecessary, but maybe informative, babble ...
Tl;dr: I tried to do my own homework first
We were not able to *find* the answer in our group's PDF rulebook, which our DM got from the kick-starter. It was not listed under spells because it isn't one, and the focus description & "the mage's class power of the same name" to which the focus description specifically referred did not mention either Major or Minor action, or anything about time required to use it. I also used Google to search for an answer, and searched specifically within this forum, without finding an answer. ... This "missing items & errata" thread seemed like a good one in which to post my question, better than starting a new thread for the single question perhaps.
Tl;dr: Why the question came up for us...
(I had written "minor action" for it on my character sheet, and I would not have made up any stats myself; but our DM questioned my casting it twice per round several rounds in a row last night, so we tried to look it up without any success. Last night, I figured that I must have found it in the book; but it occurs to me now, that in not finding it, I would have asked our DM, so *maybe* he just made an offhand judgment call at the time. We are ALL -- even the DM -- playing this for the first time, so we built our PCs mostly with the DM's guidance, and with us players *not* reading the book in advance or thoroughly. Arcane Lance also might look more powerful to him now that I have 5 points in MAGIC, than it did when I had 1, since the damage is D6+MAG 😋. In any case, for now, we already have his house ruling that it requires a Major action to use since most *spells* he looked at use a Major action, and since he thought it was getting too powerful, especially with me rolling stunt points and getting extra spells off of it multiple times last night. That is why I am not interested in guesswork or "figuring it out" or "it looks like" sorts of answers. I just want the right answer from the rules [or failing that, the game designers], either to back up our own DM's judgment call, or to show that I can cast it twice per round after all, definitively.)
-- Pootmonkey =)
The description of the Arcane Lance power says (emphasis mine):Does using the "Arcane Lance" Class Power require a Major or Minor action?
So it is a ranged attack. Ranged attacks require a Major Action.If you are holding a quarterstaff, you can make a special ranged attack that damages foes with a lance of magical energy. This is resolved like a normal ranged attack (so stunts are possible), but the attack roll is a Magic (Arcane Lance) test.