Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Question about Fortune for NPC's and being Taken Out.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about Fortune for NPC's and being Taken Out.

I was wondering if NPCs are able to use Fortune points to change the results of their Die rolls?

I did not notice anything that specifically prohibits it, but it does seem like the potential for a lot of fiddling at the table.

I also wondered if "Dying" was the default condition after being taken out if the attacker chooses not to pick one.

I am a mere newbie, so take everything I say with however big a pinch of salt you wish... but from the many other systems I have used, I would say..

I would probably differentiate here between minions and more significant adversaries. For minions I would not use fortune for altering rolls. And note the sidebar on P210 , suggesting minor adversaries are treated with Fortune of Zero anyway! Note the assessment of Minor here is slightly different from the Threat Level, in my opinion. Nameless goons, mooks, minions, whatever label you prefer, but these are the 'extras' of the movie (I think the book calls them 'minor NPCs'), and are distinct form more significant adversaries ('major NPCs' with their own individual narrative heft and perhaps even blessed with a name!) This distinction also comes up around pages 191-192, where there is a clear distinction between minor and major NPCs, especially in the discussions on initiative and morale.

Even if you ignore the sidebar , minor threat level adversaries tend to have rather low fortune, so spending on altering the roll consumes a very large part of their pool leaving them very vulnerable.

So TLR, I would say NO for 'minor NPCs'. And it is your call with of the adversaries are nameless minor NPCs.