Homebrew Paper Arcana

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Homebrew Paper Arcana

Hello everybody. This is my first attempt at a homebrew arcana. I'd really appreciate feedback. Thanks!

Paper Arcana

Your pen is mightier than the sword.
    Novice: You learn the spells Cutting Words and Shifting Letters.
    Journeyman: You learn the spell Writer's Block. You also gain the focus Intelligence (Paper Arcana).
    Master: You learn the spell Leap From The Page. You can also choose one spell stunt you can perform for -1SP when casting Paper Arcana spells.

Cutting Words
    Requirements: Paper Arcana (Novice)
    Spell Type: Attack MP Cost: 3
    Casting Time: Major Action Target Number: 11
    Test: Dexterity (Acrobatics) vs. Spellpower
    A piece of paper flies toward a target of your choice within 20 yards. It inflicts 1d6+Willpower penetrating damage.
    A successful Dexterity (Acrobatics) vs. Spellpower test only takes 1d6 penetrating damage.

Shifting Letters
    Requirements: Paper Arcana (Novice)
    Spell Type: Utility MP Cost: 4+
    Casting Time: 1 Minute Target Number: 12
    Test: None
    You can focus on any thing you can see within 100 yards. Your magic bends and produces a duplicate image onto a piece of paper you are holding.
    For an extra 2 MP you may make changes to the duplicated image. (Ex. Shifting a signature on the document or adjusting a map.)

Writer's Block
    Requirements: Paper Arcana (Journeyman)
    Spell Type: Defense MP Cost: 6
    Casting Time: Major Action Target Number: 12
    You conjure a flurry of pages that create up to a 3 yard long wall of paper.
    Anyone trying to attack through the paper takes a -2 penalty on their attack rolls.
    If you cast this spell more than once in an encounter, you can link together the sections into one continuous wall.
    The wall lasts until the end of the encounter, or until it takes Fire damage equivalent to your Spellpower.