Fantasy AGE Aboleth – Primal and Titansgrave

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fantasy AGE Aboleth – Primal and Titansgrave

When doing conversions like this I like to use the Aboleth for a few different reasons.
    • The odd ball mechanics are a good exercise in noodling out how to do such things in a new system
    • The Psionics abilities force me to sit down and study the magic system of a game
    • When successfully finished, I have a solid, creepy mastermind race that’s dangerous enough to be a threat at the end of a campaign but has the in-story excuse to have the resources and minions to be felt as a danger on day one of a game.
    • It’s one of the first monsters you find in the MM.
    Based on the assumption that the FAGE dragon is the equivalent of a Challenge 10 Young dragon and, depending on the edition of D&D, an Aboleth can range from 7 to 10. So on that note, an Aboleth should be at most equal to the FAGE dragon in some physical characteristics, while outpacing it in supernatural abilities.

So first up, the easy stuff:
    Aboleth - Primal

3 Accuracy (Tentacle)
    2 Communication (Bargaining, Deception, Persuasion)
    5 Constitution (Swimming)
    1 Dexterity
    2 Fighting (Tail Bash)
    2 Intelligence (Arcana – Water), Arcane Lore)
    2 Perception (Searching)
    5 Strength (Intimidation)
    3 Willpower (Self-Discipline)

Speed Health Defense Armor Rating
    6 (12 swim) 75 12 7

Weapon Attack Roll Damage
    Tentacle +5 1d6+5
    Tail Bash +4 2d6+1

Special Qualities
    Spell Power: 16

Arcana known: Water, Arcane, Fate (Puppets of Fate only)
    MP:79

Favored Stunts: Knock Prone, Mighty Blow, Mucus Cloud (2 SP), Enslave