Freedom League 2020

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Freedom League 2020

So. Way, way back in the day, I was a college student relatively new to role-playing games. I'd gotten Silver Age Sentinels & Mutants and Masterminds, and was messing around with both when the local game store got in a copy of Freedom City (1E). I picked it up, and fell in love. Here was a fully developed city with a history as deep as Metropolis or Marvel's NYC. I started planning a campaign for my group with a variety of characters -- original characters, legacy heroes, a couple of canon characters.... Unfortunately, we barely got through Time of Crisis before the group sort of fell apart, people graduated, the usual sort of things. But Freedom City has always been my favorite supers setting, and one of my favorite settings overall. I kept up with Freedom through 2nd Edition, thinking about how those characters would react to the ongoing timeline and events.

So, when I finally got a copy of Freedom City 3E about a year and a half ago, I went back and dug out my old notes and timeline, and compared it to the canonical one. And while I liked some of the advances, I wasn't thrilled with others. So I thought, "Well, why not figure out how *your* Freedom would've gone?" So, after what was probably way too much contemplation and brainstorming, I had this. I'm putting it here because....well, because this seemed like the place for it. I wanted to put as much as I had in one location, apart from my hard drive, for people to look at and use if they feel like it. It's mostly going to be timeline events, but I'll throw in various thoughts and notes as they come up, along with character stats later on.