Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Continuous Power, but duration is limited.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Continuous Power, but duration is limited.

Hello,

This is my first post here; I hope this is right.

I want to build a power* with a continuous duration. However, once activated, it only lasts for x number of rounds. Anyone out there have any idea on how to build this?
    I'm using M&M3e, and so far the closest I've got is using the Unreliable modifier - the 5 use only version. Reading it though, leaves me with the impression that the power could be activated 5 times before needing a recharge, but each activation would be continuous, meaning the character can keep it on for as long as they want.

Is it safe to just use Unreliable the way I want? I'm the GM, so I know the answer there is yes, but what I mean is... is that going to cause problems that I can't see because this is my first time using the system at all.

Thanks!

*In case you need it: the power in question is a Summon Duplicate effect; thematically a Teleport power where the character can, for a limited time, be in two places at once.
    "There is a difference between creating a superhero and creating a thought experiment on how to break the game."

Re: Continuous Power, but duration is limited.

For that option of Unreliable, each round the power is active is considered "one use". See 'Fades' on pg 147, which the description of Unreliable points you to.

Comment

Yes, using 'Unreliable: 5 uses' on a Continuous power, would mean that after 5 rounds of the power being active, it would stop working, as per Ysariel's comment. You would then need to recharge (which is specifically undefined, but generally is longer than a given scene, and could take multiple scenes if appropriate.)
      Ragtop, Autobot! And Zeanthara, Are You a God?
      Fenix, in the Merge, and Alicia DeVries, in the Cosmic Merge
      Supe of the Justice League Academy

Comment