Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Affliction Question

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Affliction Question

    How would an affliction that causes both blindness and deafness be priced?

  • #2
    Re: Affliction Question

    Official power-builds (aka "Power Profiles") that limit an "Impaired/Disabled/Unaware"-Affliction to a single sense-type usually apply a full "limited" (-1/r) flaw for that. Without a limit "Impaired" and "Disabled" would affect all rolls and "Unaware" would deactivate all senses (even the ones gained by the "senses"-effect).
    It could be argumented that adding a second affected sense-type is far less limiting and thus only worth a static flaw, but as even two senses are still only half the senses a regular person (and with "tactile" there is still an accurate sense remaining) it could as well be argumented that the power still loses about half its efectiveness and should thus be "limited". I would most likely check the rest of the build before trying to make that call, as there are quite a few ways to ensure that visual and auditory perception are the only ones really mattering against the super posessing the power.

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Affliction Question

      An Affliction that inflicts "Impaired/Disabled/Unaware" Conditions will affect all checks* that the target makes. Limiting it so that only one sense is impaired is worth the Limited Flaw, and to work on more than one sense you need to apply the Extra Condition modifier. See the "Dazzle" sample power in the core rulebook for my source on this...

      * Most GMs don't allow the Impaired condition chain to actuall affect all checks, instead requiring their players specify a certain type of check: Perception, Fighting, Attack, etc. Check with your GM.

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Affliction Question

        Assuming a setting similar to the real world, inflicting both blindness and deafness would be hugely debilitating to any character that didn't have some kind of enhanced or exotic senses otherwise. Basically you would have scent and touch left, and by RAW smell is so short range as to be considered close. I would definitely make it an Affliction in the Imp/Dis/Un stream, affecting all checks and not giving any discount for being limited to the two most commonly used senses.
        My old [URL="http://www.atomicthinktank.com/viewtopic.php?p=743877#p743877"]Atomic Think Tank[/URL] thread
        My current character thread: [URL="https://roninarmy.com/threads/6194-The-Sound-of-My-Eyebeams-JDRook-s-builds-and-blather?p=233536&viewfull=1#post233536"]The Sound of my Eyebeams[/URL][URL="http://www.atomicthinktank.com/viewtopic.php?p=743877#p743877"]
        [/URL]
        I will build characters in HeroLab for you! Send me [URL="https://www.fiverr.com/jdrook/transcribe-a-mutants-and-masterminds-pc-in-herolab?funnel=6e71f15f-207e-49f4-bf35-9ceb23b979a7"]your finished design[/URL] or even [URL="https://www.fiverr.com/jdrook/create-a-mutants-and-masterminds-pc-in-herolab?context=advanced_search&context_type=rating&funnel=2014103117123522519608360"]your original concept[/URL]!

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Affliction Question

          Originally posted by JDRook View Post
          Assuming a setting similar to the real world, inflicting both blindness and deafness would be hugely debilitating to any character that didn't have some kind of enhanced or exotic senses otherwise. Basically you would have scent and touch left, and by RAW smell is so short range as to be considered close. I would definitely make it an Affliction in the Imp/Dis/Un stream, affecting all checks and not giving any discount for being limited to the two most commonly used senses.
          If I were the GM, I'd call it an Affliction with the Conditions Perception Impaired/Disabled/Unaware, with a 1PP Quirk that tactile and olfactory senses aren't affected.

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Affliction Question

            Alright, I think I know where I'm going to go with the power from here.

            Thanks for clearing this up for me guys.

            Comment

            Working...
            X