Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Cumulative & Progression

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Cumulative & Progression

    The question sounds admittedly a bit odd, but does the Progression extra already contain the Cumulative extra? Or from another POV, is a Progressive Affliction cumulative with itself?
    Example: The Rook is fighting a giant spider armed with a Progressive Affliction (Impaired, Stunned, Incapacitated) Linked to Damage - its venomous bite.
    In round 1, at its turn, the spider successfully bites Rook, who misses his save by one degree - he's now impaired.
    At the end of Rook's turn, he saves again to shake off the venom (with a -2 penalty to boot). He misses again, so the Affliction worsens to Stunned (the Progressive extra).
    Next round, the spider strikes & hits again. If Rook botches his save once more (by one degree), what would be the result? Does he become Incapacitated?
    https://roninarmy.com/forum/atomic-think-tank/roll-call/7149-bothrops-pit#post7149

  • #2
    Re: Cumulative & Progression

    I don't see an official ruling for this, but for +2, I'd say that it could. However, the usual rule holds of no more than one save per effect, so a turn that the spider hits, The Rook only saves once, although the save there can act cumulatively. The benefit to landing that second hit is that it could boost you by more than one rank. Hit him with the Affliction the first turn and he gets one degree. On the second turn, if you bit him again, and he failed by two degrees, he'd be up to the third degree effect. Leave him to his own devices and any failure, no matter by how great an amount, only gets him one degree further.
    [url=http://roninarmy.com/threads/996]My Builds[/url]

    [b]Current games:[/b]
    [url=http://www.echoesofthemultiverse.com/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=839]The J.V. Team (GM)[/URL]

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Cumulative & Progression

      I'm tempted to say 'yes' -- but then Progression on its own is really powerful. I'm interested in hearing from people who have actually played or GMed for characters with Progressive afflictions, how you ruled on this and how they compared to other forms of attack.

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Cumulative & Progression

        Yes, it's powerful but also very expensive. A combination of Cumulative & Secondary Effect costs the same, and works similarly. Each variant has a few advantages & disadvantages compared to each other, and even when you'd interpret Progressive as Cumulative both are IMHO still evenly matched (Progressive is potentially more powerful, while Cumulative + Secondary Effect is more reliable).
        https://roninarmy.com/forum/atomic-think-tank/roll-call/7149-bothrops-pit#post7149

        Comment

        Working...
        X