Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Linked Powers and The Power Level Limit?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Linked Powers and The Power Level Limit?

This is my first time playing M and M, and I had one quick question about the power level limit for attack/effect. This is for the third edition of the game.

So, lets say I have a melee weapon device that damages and weakens a foe. I link those two effects together, and add the respective extras. Now, the rank total for the damage effect is 6 and the rank total for the weaken effect is 4. Now, my total attack modifier with this melee weapon is +20.

My power level is 13. Now this means that my limit for attack + effect total is 26. So does my set up violate the limit ? What I mean is, if I just consider the damage effect, the total is 26, and if I just consider the weaken effect, the total is 24. However if I add all three things together, I get 30, which exceeds the limit of 26.

So do I add each individual effect's ranks for a single action has when considering the limit or do I simply look at one effect at a time ?
    Last edited by farispie; 10-31-2014, 07:56 PM.

Re: Linked Powers and The Power Level Limit?

One effect at a time, since they will make their checks against each effects individual rank.

Comment

Originally posted by farispie View Post
      lets say I have a melee weapon device that damages and weakens a foe. I link those two effects together, and add the respective extras.
      That sounds like a standard Corrosive or Disintegrate build. Those are occasionally used to simulate lightsabres, but it can work for a lot of different weapons.

Originally posted by farispie View Post
      Now, the rank total for the damage effect is 6 and the rank total for the weaken effect is 4. Now, my total attack modifier with this melee weapon is +20.