Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to M&M, help with a concept

Hey

I'm relatively new to the system and have a few questions on how to build a rather specific character type. I want to create a character that can shoot (and/or throw) well enough to hurt things he should not be able to hurt and is able to do trick shots for utility.

Something similar to Bulleye's ability from the marvel universe, someone who can pick up a rifle and hurt the Hulk with it. Someone who can do interesting trick shots - like ranged disarms, funky ricochets that go around corners, close doors or pushes levers.

At a glance I think I need to do something with the damage power and then make it dependent on have a firearm in hand, the same with a variable power or perhaps some kind of power with the alternate effect option and create an array of effects for the trick shots.

The idea is to create someone like Allan Quatermain from the League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, who can do impossible things with normal tools (mostly with his rifle). We have been playing Kerberos Club (Victorian Age superheroes) with the Savage Worlds system and are considering switching to another system, so I picked up M&M 3E to see if it could work. The issue in many systems is that normal weapons do too little damage to be relevant, but it's hard to design a power that turns a normal weapon into a threat, without the rifle itself becoming a device of some kind. The idea is not that the rifle (or whatever handgun) grants the power, but that he is skilled enough that picking up any gun means he is dangerous and flexible.

Re: New to M&M, help with a concept

There is two Power profiles I'd say to look at, The first is the Talent Profile and the second is the Luck Profile. Both of these have powers that can be applied to weapons like this.
    Triskavanski's Graveyard of Characters

Comment