Questions from a new GM

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions from a new GM

I'm new to M&M and planning on GM'ing a campaign soon, and had a couple of questions. I come from a mostly fantasy/D&D background, so superhero games are fairly new to me. The campaign will be starting at PL 8 (possibly 10), set in WWII, with the PCs fighting against Axis occultists and superheroes. Sort of a 'Weird Wars' / M&M mash up. My players have minimal experience with superhero games and no experience with M&M at all. My questions:

1) I need 4 to 6 pre-generated characters that are "simple" for new players to play and in the "typical" superhero style (not looking for Golden Age type heroes but more Silver Age, I think). Any suggestions on where to look?

1a) Follow-up question: In D&D type games, you have several "roles" which are required for the party to have (tank, healer/leader, striker, AoE, etc). Do GM's feel like these (or any) roles are needed/useful in M&M games? Particularly in a "lower power" PL 8 game, where the players will likely face normal humans with large quantities of military hardware?

2) What sort of "introductory" scene do M&M GMs use when bringing the PCs together for the first time? In D&D tropes there was always the "meet in the tavern" scene (/gag). I usually have every PC have a "relationship" with 1 other PC, but I'm kind of stumped on a good first game session to bring all of the PCs together in a common cause.