M&M Gamemastering for the first time

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• M&M Gamemastering for the first time

Hey folks! I've been itching to try my hand at running a game of my own on these boards, even if I'm still very new to the system. There's a part of me that just wants to help tell a good story, ya know? Anyhow, I'm curious about if there's any useful advice about how to run one. I've GM'd before for pathfinder, but I've never done so for M&M, or on a forum for that matter. So, as a result I also have some questions in relation. What would be a good Power level to start at as a newbie GM? How many and when should Power Points be given out? Are there really important things in the GM's guide that I should know(I only have gamemastering materials written at the end of the handbook so far)? On that note, should I just try to save up and purchase that first before rushing off into the thick of it?
    I'm obviously a doctor of literature.

Re: M&M Gamemastering for the first time

Go for it!!! The Hero Handbook recommends starting at level 10 using 150 points and for new characters that allows you more than enough points and a suitable level to build decent adult characters that also then allow you to easily use any of the published characters as ready-made opponents. I personally found that the GM's guidebook isn't a requirement for starting (it gives alternative rules and lots of good ideas on running campaigns but definitely not essential for starting up...)