Hints for Running Multiple Characters

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hints for Running Multiple Characters

So I decided to do something more daring with this new game. I have 5 players, and each of them is going to have 2 characters. I did this mainly for 2 reasons: 1) I wanted a larger Avengers/JLA style roster and 2) I wanted the players to be able to explore different kinds of characters.

Before you tell me I'm crazy for trying to run a game with 10 superheroes, let me mention a few salient points:

1) This is a group of players I am very familiar with. I have been running games for most of them for over 25 years. I know them well.
    2) While we are newer to M&M, we are all "genre-fluent" with comics and supers RPGS and most of us have extensive Hero-system experience.
    3) With the exception of major events, it was not my intention that all 10 characters would regularly be involved at the same time.

Here was my plan, as far as I had sketched it out:

For the very first incident, I was planning on doing something big (an alien invasion) utilizing all 10 characters, but having the characters in small groups of 1, 2, and 3 addressing specific issues with fairly quick cuts between scenes. Even the "climax fight" of the event would likely be dealing with only 5 characters.

After this, I was going to do something very character-driven (I have been provided with solid backgrounds for the characters) where I would liberally seed the table with plot elements ("quests," if you will) and see what attracted attention. Some of those events would be intended to engage multiple characters, while others would only involve one or two. I would then cut between scenes to deal with different plot threads as the characters tackled various issues/scenes.