Announcement

Collapse

New Server

RoninArmy.com now lives on a new server! Due to a communication mixup with our hosting company, some posts made around November 3, 2019 might have been overwritten. We apologize for the inconvenience. If anything seems off or doesn't work any more (or if anything works better now), we'd like to hear about it. Thanks!
See more
See less

Buying other languages using specialty cost? (house rule)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Buying other languages using specialty cost? (house rule)

I'm new to this game. The person who got me into it recommended using a particular house rule that she loved, and after finishing the core books (and hopefully understanding at least the basics!), it seems like a pretty reasonable one. That said, I'd love to bounce it off of you guys to see if there's any issues I might be missing. Everything past this is a straight cut-n-paste:

--------

LANGUAGES

The Language ability confers skill in your native language, usually Common Tongue. It has no specialties. However, when learning additional languages, purchase them as though they WERE specialties, (10 xp per level, not to exceed the level of your ability.) For example, if you have Language 3 (Common Tongue), you could add Valyrian 1 for 10 xp, 2 for 20 xp, or 3 (the maximum) for 30 xp. Use the existing rules for what this means; this house rule only changes how non-native tongues are purchased, nothing more.

(Why this change? Because we Westerners vastly undersell how common it is for regular folk to grow up speaking two or three languages. It shouldn't take half of a kid's starting xp to do so, and learned characters from the books can often speak half a dozen tongues in fluency ranging from "just getting by" to "eloquent." Polyglot is a step toward addressing this, but it covers only those who are unusually literate, nothing more.)
    [B][URL="http://www.mygurps.com/mm3e.shtml"]My Collection of M&M (3E) House Rules[/URL][/B]