PDA

View Full Version : Life Steal build? "Reactions" in Hero Lab?

SkyBornDancer
12-06-2014, 03:04 AM
Hi All! I'm new to M&MM, and I'm learning how to use the Hero lab to build characters. It's SO great and much easier than navigating the rulebook. I'm having a very hard time figuring out how to do conditionals.

I have Challenging Build for you to solve.

I would like to build a life "soul draining" melee attack. What steps do I take to create a Damage attack the has the reaction of on success activate self healing? Or better yet, heal amount of damage successfully inflicted?

I would love for the damage to be automatic, but the life stealing to be resistible. So, first the soul stealer has to kill the target, then the target's soul can resist via willpower, and if failed the soul stealer heals.

Lastly, even cooler would be if higher willpower targets granted a better healing effect. So, a harder to defeat willpower adds to healing chance and success rank.

Does this make sense?

FuzzyBoots
12-06-2014, 08:06 AM
The Hero Lab side of things is simple. Just add the necessary Extras and Flaws.

From a mechanics side of things, in 3E, I think you would have to go for Reaction. That would be the +3 Extra, which would boost the cost to +5. Making it able to be resisted by the target is a textbook case of Resistable, a -1 Extra. Arguably, you should be able to apply a Limited flaw to limit it to the lesser of your damage and your rank of Healing. That would take it down to 3 pp / rank. Since the healing is limited to yourself, that could fit for another -1 Flaw which brings us back down to 2 pp/rank.

You might be able to go for Triggered, but you'd have to use a Standard action to prepare it each time, and it would technically be Disarmable due to the basis of Triggered being things like mechanical traps and mystic sigils.

JDRook
12-06-2014, 04:18 PM